I came across this picture today on the Internet. He’s not a real Roman Catholic bishop, but one in a splinter group called the Ecumenical Catholic Church. He rocks. 

 I’m a Catholic and will likely never leave the Church over social issues. The faith of the Church is enough for me.

I think that Catholicism is a great force in the world. It’s by no means perfect, but it’s also by no means a homogenous religion. There are so many different ways to apply the faith to the world and room for different ways to express Catholic life.

Catholicism is greatly misunderstood by  a lot of people, be them Christian fundamentalists or ultra liberal (and ultra obnoxious) people who lay blame on the Church for the poverty of the developing world.

I think I’ll stay with her though. I like being Catholic.

