It’s an often quoted passage from an ancient Jewish text used to add justification to opposition to the homosexual lifestyle:

“If a man lies with a male as with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination; they shall be put to death, their blood is upon them.”

Leviticus 20:13

Seen in ancient times, one would scarcely cringe at it. In 2007, only the most ardent psychopathic Biblical loon could embrace it.

But why? If the Bible is the inerrant word of God than shouldn’t followers gather wheelbarrows of stones and march down to the nearby strip looking for effeminate men or butch women to hurl them at? I mean, after all, it’s in the Bible so it can’t be wrong.

I’m being facetious of course. I am not a fundamentalist and would never advocate stoning anybody. Interestingly, Christ, in pardoning an adulterous woman seemed to have put God’s indellible stamp of disaproval on the whole act of summarily executing people for their sins.

Rather than saying I have the answer to the homosexual question, I can only ask this question: whose sins are greatest? In the past month I’ve done things that would certainly be shunned by those who’ve written the Old Testament, and perhaps God himself. I’ve been guilty of premarital relations and of sexual intercourse. Should not then I be put to death with stones? I’m sure that could be discerned somewhere between Genesis and Malachi?

I guess my point in writing this is that religion seems to me to be a great force for change but also a greater force for alienation. It can be the justification for all types of evil behavior and self-righteous violence. Scripture, which to me is not inerrant, can be used to justify all types of foulness including the death penalty, child abuse and perhaps even abortion.

That doesn’t mean sin doesn’t exist. It’s something we struggle with. Certainly one must imagine that such a thing as sin exists as we can feel it’s detriment on our interpersonal relationships, body and soul. That said, if the God of Jesus is a God of love and forgiveness, there’s no need for humans to take up the stone. They have one Judge who is God.

I suspect that if there ever were a Biblical Fundamentalist Christian state it would be something like that of the earliest settlers to the shores of New England or, more recently, the Taliban. I think even the most ardent Bible thumper can agree that’s not really something we want.

