After going to bed Thursday night and finding out the next morning that the Tampa Bay Rays blew a seven run lead to the Red Sox, I was pretty convinced that my initial prediction of yet another Red Sox ALCS was going to come true, to my dismay.

Boston people in celebratory fashion

Boston sports fans in celebratory fashion

I couldn’t bear to watch Game Six on Saturday night, so I went to bed uncharacteristically early (I also wasn’t feeling well). When I woke up early in the morning and found out that they’d wormed another win from the team that just two days before was on victory’s doorstep and forced a seventh game, I resolved myself to just act as if my most hated baseball team had won and just get over it. After all, I’m friends with some Sox fans. I don’t care enough to lose sleep over it. But still, I can’t stand the sanctimonious, holier than thou attitude of Red Sox Nation, so a part of me hated admitting the Sox would once again be in it to win it.


Last night after Mass I dropped by the supermarket to pick up some things for this week and bumped into a friend and Red Sox fan who asked me if I was interested in watching the game. I told him no and congratulated him on the Sox making it to the World Series. I assured him that they would win as they seem to come back from every deficit in dramatic fashion. The way the book had been written, it seemed there was no way the Rays would put up a strong performance and instead would cave in as other teams before them had (1986 Angels, 1999 Indians, 2003 Athletics, 2004 Yankees and the 2007 Indians). I grabbed my avacados and checked out. I fell asleep not to Buck Martinez and Ron Darling doing color commentary, but to a documentary on the Normandy Invasion.

Boy was I very surprised and very happy when, at 3:45 a.m. I logged in to MLB.COM to find out that the Sox had blown it (and I know blowing it, because I’m a Mets fan!). I don’t mean to gloat, but it was pretty funny to read about. I have a brother out in Boston who was assaulted a few years ago in a bar by Sox fans, so I am a little suspect of Red Sox fans and the wild pack mentality they embody, chanting vulgarities, peppering the cops with bottles and torching cars along Boylston Street.

Beware of the madness of a Boston crowd

Beware of the madness of a Boston crowd

I don’t think I need to dig too deep to describe my phobia of an organized Red Sox fan demonstration (in case you want more on this one). A Red Sox celebration is closer to a Nuremberg gathering than a pep rally.

Of course all baseball teams have asshole fans. I’m a Mets fan and I know that occasionally some moron will do something stupid like chuck a battery or put a laser pointer on a player. Phillies fans are notorious boo birds who sometimes like to throw beer on Mets fans. Worse, I can recall reading about a game in 2000 at Dodger Stadium when Todd Pratt of the Mets hit a homer and a Mets fan was scalded with coffee. Yankees fans threw garbage on the field during Game Six of their HISTORIC CHOKE-FILLED COLLAPSE AGAINST THE RED SOX IN 2004. Again, I know that all baseball teams have asshole fans. I don’t need to be reminded. I also know that most baseball fans aren’t assholes. It’s more of a matter of which organization has a higher percentage of asshole fans who are prone to violence. In baseball, that’s the Boston Red Sox. Hands down. Ask anyone who’s not a Red Sox fan (actually some might admit it or take pride in that). The average Sox fan is conscientious and dutiful to his or her team and you have to give them credit for that. On the other hand, a big part of being a Sox fan is being contrary. Anything and everything that isn’t the Red Sox is some corporate conspiracy against the purity of Boston sports.

Anyway, I’m just happy things didn’t turn out the way I feared that they would. I’m glad the Red Sox lost and that as of 2 p.m. nobody has been kicked to death or beaten up–that we know of. I’ll be watching the Rays v. Phillies happily. I think it will be a good World Series. Both teams are good and exciting to watch. I’m just glad it’s not the Sox.

