For about a year now I have been in the habit of weighing myself daily. Probably the majority of weight loss experts say that a person shouldn’t weigh his or herself everyday but there’s a lot of experts out there and a lot of advice that works for some and not for others.

Of course I am not happy with the above photograph. It’s a little over three years since my friend took that picture of me and I am about 40 lbs. lighter now than when it was taken.

Weighing myself every morning, recording the data on the lower right corner of each day helps me keep perspective and not let my weight get out of hand the way it did leading up to this picture.

It helps to have that feedback day-to-day, even if the added two or three pounds from the previous day is water. I liken it to checking your blood sugar as a diabetic. I’ve been writing about it for a while on this site.

This picture of me at a scuzzy bowling alley back in November 2008 probably doesn’t show enough of my body to demonstrate that I’ve shed some extra weight. Without becoming any more self-absorbed, I would try to find a picture more suitable. I guess you’ll have to take my word for it.

Still, I’ve much work to do and the key to being successful in losing weight and maintaining that success is to keep at it and not let up.

When I was in my early twenties I used to run all the time indoors and outdoors until my shirts were drenched in sweat. I had lost weight from my teenage years and was down to about 165 at one point. At the time I thought I’d never stop exercising, but sure enough, I did. For a period of about six years, I only exercised in fits and starts with no real sustained effort. My weight creeped up on me, culminating in the shape that I was in in that photo right there from January 2006.

There’s much work to be done in my life on this and it can only be done mindfully and purposefully and compassionately.

This morning, I could scarcely scrape up the energy to go to the gym so I let myself sleep in. I’d gone the previous four days and as much as I enjoy the elliptical machine or the treadmill, bike and ab exercises, it makes me tired. Good to treat the body with compassion and let it rest.

