This morning I weighed myself at 183. Today is Ash Wednesday, the beginning of the month-and-a-half long period of introspection for Christians. I thought about if there was something I could abstain from for this period and the one thing I really thought of that may remind me I’m a human being is coffee. Though I don’t drink nearly as much of it as I used to, but still it’s something I drink a good deal of.

Not drinking it is a pretty small thing to abstain from, but one I felt reasonable and perhaps will help me a bit fitness wise.

I don’t think they had coffee back in Jesus’ day and I certainly don’t think they’d ever envision a time when people could simply have something steamy to drink in a disposable cup.

Thinking about all the coffee I drink, I realize that I must leave a landfill of paper waste behind each year.

Tonight we are supposed to have warm weather and I will be happy to get out for a run again. Last night was brutally cold and I was layered excessively. It feels like forever since it was even fall weather. As it stands, there are 22 days left of official winter and I am happy for that. The cold weather will likely stick around after that, but at least there’s a marker with which to use as a frame of reference that warmer days are coming.

I took this picture a few minutes after our first snowfall here in Albany back in mid November. Though we don’t have any snow on the ground right now, it feels like cold weather has been with us forever.

In the meantime, hopefully the coffee wont be hard. I’ve had to remind myself today twice, but I guess you just have to remind yourself and not make a big deal out of it.

